Geoff Wood : Photog’s Choice

RDavis_beforeafter

I really like that this blog can be an inspirational/new tricks/learning tool. I’m constantly impressed and inspired by the submissions that have been coming in. I like seeing what settings everyone is using to capture their images and then what’s being done in post. So I thought it might be a good time to show a before and after shot (or in this case an after and before).

It’s just a random shot of Rob Davis looking out some windows. I just kind of saw him and thought it might look good. Once I downloaded it, to be honest, I wasn’t too impressed. I remembered it being a little more dramatic looking, of course that could have been from the low blood sugar….

I wanted to give it a ….sort of christopher wilson-ish look. In short…I blew out the background, duplicated the dark shadow on the right side and mirrored over to the left in order to help frame Rob a little better. Did a little curves to get some contrast. Then I did the Troy effect and messed with the opacity. Save file. Next I re-opened my RAW file and used Split-toning to give it a blueish green tint. Placed that file over the top of the previous, gave it a hard light blend and brought the opacity to 50%. Which helped get a little color in his hair.

Well, there it is. Hit me with some critiques!! Too much? Not enough? Let me have it!!!

Canon 5D / 70-200mm @ 200 / aperture 2.8 / ISO 125

geoffwoodphotography.com

travelartscience.com

~ by theassignment on June 17, 2009.

4 Responses to “Geoff Wood : Photog’s Choice”

  1. I think it looks great. Nice job mirroring and framing him. I also like that you brought out the hair some. Cool.

  2. Just enough. I think faking the framing with Photoshop was a good idea. The original seemed a little lopsided.

    I also think this would’ve looked great with more of a cross-processed effect. Give it a bit more green…

  3. rdavis_2

  4. Hmmm.. I’m actually torn between those two now.

Leave a Reply

 
