Andrea Updyke : Your Community

FencingFor my community I decided to highlight the old neighborhood where I live. Each back yard is identical and separated by old chain-link fences. When I first bought the house I envisioned one day tearing ours down and replacing it with a much more aesthetically pleasing wooden privacy fence. But as time wore on, and we have friendly neighbors, we decided to embrace the fences and whatever charm and openness they carry.

Shot in daylight with my Sony Cybershot. Minor cropping and color adjustment in Photoshop.
www.lilkidthings.com.

~ by theassignment on May 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “Andrea Updyke : Your Community”

  1. That’s a great idea! I love seeing the progression of fences, especially including the one in the immediate foreground.

  2. i recognize that yard! one of the great things about this is that this is viewed on a blog, so you have scroll to see the whole thing. and the foreground fence is a nice little reward for your efforts. very nice.

  3. I too like the layers of fences. I initially expected the front fence to be the one in focus, but having the yard in focus pulls your eyes to the continuation of fences (and the idea of a common theme in your community).

  4. I definitely like the on going-yard feel. what a sense of openness to your neighbors. and the bird house is a nice touch of homeyness.(sp)

Leave a Reply

 
