Zeke Smith : Your Community

chbarbershop
Camera: 20D w/ 70-200 f2.8 lens
Originally in color, turned to b&w and tweaked the contrast and exposure just slightly in Photoshop.

This is a shot of Don Ingle of the Chapel Hill Barber Shop cracking up one of his clients, Frank DeMonchaux. I’ve always thought barber shops are really cool (despite the fact that I don’t really have any hair) and loved that they’re still these sort of old-boy gathering places for shooting the breeze, and that your barber is one of those people you can keep going back to for decades and decades. I recently completed a project where I spent time in a few barber shops in and around Chapel Hill and Carrboro, and this picture was one that I took during the project. I feel like it tells a little story about the community I live in, and the little things that go on every day.

www.zekesmithphoto.com

~ by theassignment on May 18, 2009.

6 Responses to “Zeke Smith : Your Community”

  1. awesome! I love the barber shop “culture”. I have often thought about doing a similar project. I obviously haven’t seen the color version, but I think you made the right choice converting to BW. gives the image a timeless feel. great snap shot of how I envision every barber shop out there.

  2. Great shot! I wonder what was so funny. I think you captured exactly what you were going for.

  3. Nicely done. I think this really captures the community theme.

  4. i like this.

  5. love it!

  6. feel the laughter in my gut. captures quaintness of a small town precisely. well done.

Leave a Reply

 
