Josh Steadman : Self-Portrait

dsc_0370

Shot it RAW.
50mm lens
400 iso
1/800s exposure
f 1.8

White balance was set beforehand in-camera to 5700 color temp… i didn’t mess with that afterwards, but i did up the fill light a notch cause my face was dark. I also lifted the blacks a tic, upped the overall brightness by 10 pts. No sharpening. No messin with levels.

I was in D.C. operating camera on a 1 hr. broadcast doc for discovery health about a dwarf family who had recently given birth.
I spent about an hour lighting an interview we set up in the living room of their apartment; so if I had turned the camera around, you’d have seen lights and stands, mixed daylight and tungsten sources, and probably the sound guy in mid-sentence, talking about his affinity for go-kart racing and the problems with the atkins diet. I used a big window that had diffuse sun coming through as a key on the couple, filled in faces with a 650w spotted on a white bounce opposite the key, and placed a lamp in for some nice orange. They also had one of those trendy changing screens, so I stood that up behind the sofa and lit it a little bit from below, also tungsten/orange. If there is anything interesting about the still, it’s that it’s fairly flat and unlit compared to what’s happening all around. This is me during a break, waiting for the couple to finish feeding/changing/burping/putting 2mo. old babe to bed.

~ by theassignment on April 21, 2009.

7 Responses to “Josh Steadman : Self-Portrait”

  1. great story, great instruction on your lighting set up. and some good points on your execution of the shot. I think you really captured you exhaustion. err…ah…that is if you were exhausted. if you weren’t …..nevermind.

  2. you look just like my cousin ronnie. sounds/looks like you’re probably better at using a camera though.

  3. wonderful shot. love the lighting and crop.
    sort of jesus-esque. i’m going to visualize a lamb just out of frame.

  4. one complaint: why isn’t this also equipped with auditory-i want to hear the sound guy…he sounds FASCINATING!

    GREAT picture. I love the focusing. and blur you created. Seems like a focused moment of serenity.

  5. I wish I could write this well! great blog thanks.

  6. Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

  7. the colors are gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

 
